Posted on Leave a comment

SO TELL THE TRUTH DO I NEED A OSHA 10 or 30 Course, to work in your STATE, Yes and NO!

This is what the law and courts say:

OSHA requirements are set by statute, standards and regulations. OHSA notes they apply to particular circumstances, but they cannot create additional employer obligations to take courses or add to the standards. 

Although initially conceived as a voluntary program, seven states have crafted legislation to make OSHA 10 and/or 30-hour training mandatory for employees. OSHA recommends outreach courses as an orientation to occupational safety and health for workers. However, some states have enacted laws mandating the training. Also, some employers, unions, organizations or other jurisdictions may also require this training. Ensure that workers are trained on the hazards they may come into contact with. OSHA has developed a “summary” of Training Requirements in OSHA Standards, but at 270 pages, ensuring training requirements are fully met can be a daunting task.

For this reason, training can sometimes be a confusing topic, especially in the Construction industry — which comprises over 20% of all worker fatalities each year.

Having an OSHA card assists those who work in a lot of USA states, regardless of your industry or job type. Even if you aren’t currently required to take an OSHA training course, OSHA cards make you a safer and more compliant employer or employer, and it’s useful to have on your resume too.

Without a separate state program for the safety and health of workers, then your state businesses falls under federal OSHA jurisdiction and must follow OSHA guidelines.

And YES, the United States Department of Labor (DOL) issues official completion cards to students who complete authorized OSHA Outreach Training Programs, by their trained instructors!

The 10 or 30-hour training programs are in-depth certification plans, created by OSHA and administered by government authorized trainers.

The 10-hour program takes a minimum of two days to complete and the 30-hour program a minimum of 4. Booth programs focus on the most prevalent hazards in the field and are designed to greatly improve worker safety.

While OSHA conceived these programs as voluntary, many contractors and seven states have made the completion of these programs mandatory.

Ensure your employees are certified in OSHA 10 or 30-hour with Safety Service Company’s online 10/30-hour training program.

States requiring a specific OSHA training program in the USA

Connecticut

Rhode Island

New Hampshire

New York

Massachusetts

Missouri

Nevada

New York City

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.